Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Many societies around the world believe that formal examinations are the best way to know a student's performance and ability in their studies. But they speak that continual assessments such as coursework and homework are not a perfect way to replace them. In my opinion, continual assessments such as coursework and project are not a satisfactory way to evaluate students. Teachers and parents around us believe that formal examinations like mid-term exams and final exams are the only way to know students' ability to do their life work. But some insist that it is not the only way to assess a student's performance. For example, most elderly teachers agree that formal examination is the only way to assess a student's ability so they hold an exam to evaluate their children and young teachers believe that it is not the only way to evaluate them. But there is an advanced way to assess a performance these days. In Korea, there is a course named "evaluating each other". Each peer in a classroom can evaluate the others. They can classify each other with the predicted score, A, B, C and D. After scoring classmates, explain the reason is necessary. Teachers will make a final decision to score them after "evaluating each other" is finished. In conclusion, classifying a student's ability with formal examinations is not a perfect way to assess a student's performance, and continual assessments such as coursework, project and homework cannot replace it. The best way to assess each student's performance is using the "evaluating each other". Each classmate can motivate themselves by evaluating each other.