Some goverments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizenz. In other countries, families provide support for these citizens. Discuss both systems and give your oipnion about which you think is better

In some countries, financial support for the unproductive categories of citizens such as the elderly, unemployed and disabled is the exclusive responsibility of government. However, in some countries, the provision of assistance for these people rests on their families. This essay would discuss both systems and also take a stance on which is preferable. Many rich nations shoulder the financial needs of their vulnerable citizens. The support provided ranges from paying for healthcare, provision of food and housing, and also distribution of stipends to cater for other essential needs. Because these individuals have zero earning capabilities, therefore their government takes it as their duty to maintain their daily living through provision of this assistance assistance. Furthermore, most of the nations that engage in this act are mostly rich nations, like the United States and the United Kingdom. A good illustration is provision of food stamps by government of the United States. Additionally, it can be seen that these countries have excellent documentation of their citizens so it is easier for them to plan for their people. Conversely, in some other societies, financial aids to retirees and other financially dependent citizens fall on the families of these people. A number of factors may be the cause of this. Firstly, these countries are generally poor, therefore, government finds it difficult to give monetary or other forms of aid. This responsibility automatically becomes that of the families of these citizens. A good example is Nigeria, where no formal assistance is available to financially constrained people. Secondly, apart from being poor, some societies have poor documentation of their citizens. Therefore, making appropriate budgets that would cater for the less privileged is impossible. Ultimately, the responsibilities of care fall on the families of these people. Such societies are seen mostly in some African and Asian countries. After due consideration of both systems, I want to posit that, it is better when government provides financial assistance. This ensures that money, adequate healthcare, good food and housing are almost always available for a greater number of this category of citizens, given that most of them are already captured in the database. Also, the burden of care is removed from the individuals and families, because their care is the primary duty of the government. In conclusion, financially handicapped members of the society, tend to benefit more when their financial needs are handled by the government, compared to when it is done by their families.