As the world become technologically advances, computers are replacing people at more and more jobs. What are some job positions that may be lost because of computers? What are some problems that may result from this situation

Automation has progressively increased as employers look to lower costs of production in the quest to have more efficient and profitable means of production. This essay will discuss some of the jobs that have been affected by the trend and some of the problems it has caused. The jobs that have been most affected by computerization are the ones that are labour-intensive, repetitive, and require limited skills and knowledge application. The jobs affected by automation include front-end positions like client service in shops, till operators, bank tellers, farm workers, street cleaners, and assembly line jobs just to name a few. Mechanization increases unemployment which has an indirect impact on issues such as crime, social cohesion, increased dependency on the government for financial support, and retraining costs associated with retraining laid-off employees. Moreover, other problems triggered by computerization include disengaged or dissatisfied customers who have to deal with computers, bots, and chatbots in resolving client service. The other problems include the lack of human interaction and engagement associated with automated client service positions may mean that customers become less loyal to brands and companies. A lot of companies that have automated client services and complaints systems,often times have been affected by even higher levels of consumer dissatisfaction. In conclusion, whilst computerization is positive in reducing production costs and increasing profitability in companies, the negative consequences of computerization need to be managed and this may require the private sector to work closely with the government in retraining redundant employees and implementing policies that allow for a dynamic labour force.