Some people believe that music should be taught in school, while others think that it is best to focus on science and computer. Do you agree or Disagree?

Recently, people have been debating if musical education should be part of the school curriculum or if other subjects, such as science and technology, are more important. I agree that music should be learned at school and, further in this essay, I will explain my point of view as well as give examples. Firstly, a lot can be taught through melody, even content from other subjects, like mathematics or literature. This happens because rhythm and melody help memorization. For example, if the teacher makes a song about the multiplication table, the students will be more able to memorize it faster. It also has benefits in regard to communication and socialization. According to researchers, when we try to synch with others musically (keeping the beat or harmonizing, for example) we tend to feel positive social feelings towards those with whom we are synchronizing, even if that person is not visible to us or not in the same room. Secondly, studying melody alters the brain structure and improves abilities such as reading, verbal memory and audition. Another interesting fact is that it improves neuroplasticity, which is the capacity of the brain to recover from any kind of lesion. For instance, if a child loses the ability to listen, the brain will use neuroplasticity to adapt to the situation and start looking for other stimuli besides listening. In conclusion, I personally defend that music should be taught in school, considering the many benefits it brings, such as the improvement of memorizing and neuroplasticity in the intellect.