Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, advertising plays a major role in people's selection and has become one of the most concerning issues. Although some individuals claim that advertising encourages people to be the same and choose the same things, others believe that it helps people to have a wide range of options. I partially agree with this statement, and in this essay, I will discuss the relevant reasons behind this issue. On the one hand, advertising is a significant way for people to become familiar with a substantial number of brands and products. In other words, many products and companies can not be recognized due to the lack of advertising. A good example is soda drinks. Many people just know Coca-cola and Pepsi as sparkling drinks, while there are many different brands available in stores. Advertising makes people familiar with a variety of products and gives them more options to choose from. On the other hand, advertising plays an active role in people's minds and what they choose to buy. These days, many companies and influencers advertise the same thing and give people the same information which leads to the same selection. Mobile phone, for instance, is an essential part of today's life. Because of advertising Apple products by different companies and influencers on social media, many people prefer to buy an iPhone without considering other available brands and their abilities. To sum up, advertising is one of the most significant subjects in this contemporary era, and it has many advantages and disadvantages. Although it has a great impact on what people select, it gives them various options to choose from.