A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are groups of individuals who believed that social status and material belongings are the basis of their worth at present time. Others opine that honour, kindness and trust which are the old-fashioned core values are not essential. I firmly agree that the behaviour and character of a person are crucial to judging the worth of one's life. In our society which is surrounded by famous and wealthy artists who owned luxurious private vehicles and villas, the community might see them as the most worthy citizen above all. For instance, in the Philippines, the public gives importance to this popular actor since their material possessions are immeasurable to the extent that the state provides them all the special treatment and access to fine dining restaurants once they had their meal. Consequently, in the public, they are indispensable persons. However, I think people who possess good right conduct must be considered by society to look up to because material things may vanish in just a snap of seconds but the character will remain as it is. In addition, being kind and trustworthy along with having an honour for themselves may help others to realize the real essence of living and treating others even without those fancy valuables. For example, in Africa, most population have the kindest and pure hearts that can be seen in every situation, likewise, these human beings can be trusted enough because it's from the bottom of their hearts and conscience. Hence, not having material objects and showing old-fashioned behaviour made them worthy throughout their existence. As an average individual, I had observed in our village that people are showcasing honour, kindness and trust towards their fellow men in such a way the young generations may witness it, practice and inherit this valuables behaviour that money can not buy. Like my own grandparents, they are farmers in my hometown and most neighbourhoods respect them a lot as a result of the kindness that they shared with the community. To conclude, others may possess all the material wealth in this world and people might see them as worthy, however, in the long run, those crowd who showcase great values and right conduct are still the most worthy among all people.