Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

For a long period of time, there have been diverse ways of governing communities. Particularly, some believe that governments should be the ones making decisions, while others oppose the statement and consider it important to allow individual’s freedom of choice. In terms of this issue, this essay will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, ruling a community only through the government’s decisions may be easy to maintain a society. This is because various connections among people would be well maintained through intervention of the authority. To illustrate this, when the government establishes a law restricting quarrel between people, folks having clearer relationships are an expectable result, in that they would avoid arguing with other people. Thus, at some points, governmental intervention is necessary. On the other hand, letting a person make his or her own choice have more benefits for themselves and the entire society. First of all, as people choose what they want, they become happy. Secondly, when they make their own decisions, they learn responsibilities and thus, become mature. For instance, according to some articles, people in the democratic societies have chances on their decisions, and therefore are more satisfied about their lives than others. They put more effort on the works because they made decisions on their works. What is more, it is also reported that the whole communities are benefited with intelligent people and various advanced technology. Therefore, freedom of decision is important for everyone. In a nutshell, with an authority involved, maintaining a society is easier, whereas allowing one freedom of choices is advantageous for the individuals and society. With these being said, the government is asked to introduce diverse options and opportunities for the citizen, while trying to make essential intervention at the same time.