Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the ways to help offenders become an ethical people. While some claim that putting the perpetrator behind the bars is not the best tactic to solve problems, the opposite makes a statement that education and job training is one of the better elements to help them. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, imprisonment should be considered an obsolete practice. Depending on the types of offenders, governors should decide on reasonable punishment for them. For example, in terms of misdemeanors such as shoplifting and pickpocketing, the authorities had better punish them with a fine. Regarding felony such as sexual assault, kidnapping, murdering and cause serious loss of property, law breakers should be sent to jail in order to keep safe for law abiding citizens. Hence, keeping every criminal under arrest is not always the best decision. While ineffeciency of prison sentences are widely acknowledged, there are myriads of tactic to deal with perpetrator, especially providing education and job orientation. Education can bring a proper awareness of fault for the offender. Meanwhile, job training can help them earn a living. In doing so, they can reintegrate and decrease the rate of reoffend. For instance, in Vietnam, there are bunch of reformatory are opened for juvenile criminal, where prisoners are learned and job training in handicraft and mechanic industry. Thus, education and job orientation is much more important in rehabilitate and reforming of law breakers In conclusion, keeping criminals contained is effective for some crime but it is not the best approach to apply on a mass. Instead, education and job training serve as one of the significant elements cope with reduce crime rate.