Write about the following topic: Some people are of the view that industries and multinational companies, and not the government, should pay for the cost of ways to clean up the pollution they have created. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world is developing at an accelerated pace. It is noteworthy to mention that environment is being polluted at the same pace. Many environmentalists criticize that industries should bear the price for cleaning the mess they created. It is an unrealistic and biased view to blame the companies for polluting. It is everyone's responsibility to take part in making our premises green. It is true that industries are exploiting natural resources for their profits. But, from a broader perspective, they are generating employment, and giving citizens a better standard of life. They are minting profits but simultaneously paying hefty taxes to the governments. In addition to these taxes and royalties, taking the Government of India as an example, it is compulsory for Indian companies to spend about 2% of their generated revenue as part of their Corporate Social Responsibility by cleaning up the tanks, providing education to the poor and constructing drinking water facilities etc. On the other hand, Governments play a pivotal role in developing living standards. They welcome large-scale factories and multinational companies to set up their plants and support them through various incentives. Besides this, the responsibility of the state is to monitor the industries and put pollution levels under control in terms Air Quality Index, availability of potable water in every nook and corner of the country etc. Hence, to conclude, it is the duty of the entire society to extend its support to develop in more sustainable ways. Governments and businesses should join hands and seek help from academia in researching and developing state-of-the-art technologies that reduce pollution output economically. Besides these efforts, awareness in society is also a must to lessen the impact of pollution.