Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others think that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views.

In modern-day societies, crime is prevalent and discussions regarding sentences are debatable. Some people argue that having fixed punishments for different types of offences is the most appropriate solution to tackle this issue, whereas others claim that a variety of factors that drive a person to commit a crime, namely motives and circumstances, should be considered before the final decision. This essay will examine both opinions in detail. First of all, if certain sentences are existing, it is possible that the legal system will operate more quickly, and accurately and that the percentage of crime rate will be declined. For instance, many people who violate the law, especially those who commit minor offences, believe that if they get caught, they will find a way to earn a lenient sentence, by convincing the judge and the jury of their innocence. However, if these people knew that, no matter how persuasive they or their solicitors are, the verdict will be fixed, then it is likely that they would be more willing to adhere to the law. While the above argument may be accurate, there is a plethora of citizens who do not share this opinion. They strongly believe that the only way to achieve impartial justice and respect the law is to examine each case separately. Committing a violation is complex because it depends on the person who commits it, his or her psychology and background and moreover, on the conditions that lead the person to break the law. For example, some people commit murder on purpose but others unpremeditated, mainly to defend themselves. If a system with fixed verdicts was existing, then both would be found guilty and would have to serve the same sentence, and it is obvious that a system like that would be unfair. In conclusion, finding the most efficient way to tackle offenders has different possible solutions. While some are in favour of enforcing fixed punishments for each type of violation, others support strongly that each case is unique and needs to be judged differently and this essay discussed some of the arguments.