Many people think that public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their money on expensive hi-tech media, such as softwares, DVDs or videos. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people agree that public libraries should only provide books but not hi-tech media, such as software, DVDs or videos since it wastes budgets. I would argue that I strongly disagree with this statement, my opinions will be discussed for the following reasons; Nowadays, there are many kinds of knowledge resources available, especially electronic components such as e-books, interactive learning software, DVDs, CDs, or videos. Therefore, not only books should be available in public libraries, but also these sorts of media should be provided. Although these high technologies are expensive, they provide enormous advantages to students. In addition, it could encourage people to use their study centres more and more as high technology information resources. For example, apart from reading, they can also enjoy watching documentaries or listening to any useful broadcasts. These types equipment could make the city bibliotheca more interested and their clients could gain more knowledge by using hi-tech methods. Hence the investment in high technological knowledge centres should be more advantageous for all of the users than typical libraries. Furthermore, there are not only general adult customers who visit an atheneum but also all ages of children such as pre-schoolers, schoolers or teenagers. Besides young customers, disable clients such as blind people also visit them. This means that the public study rooms should not provide only typical reading materials, but it should invest more new technologies. For instance, interactive learning programs, knowledgeable video games, television, or DVDs should be supplied for all groups of customers, including children and the disabled population. Consequently, the availability of these types of hi-tech equipment would profit to the users more than only reading materials. To sum up, I do believe that public learning centres should provide comprehensive knowledgeable hardware and software. I totally deduce that not only typical readable devices, but also varieties of new scientific learning materials should be available to support the citizens who may either have different ages or someone who is disabled. As a result of providing these high technological resources, people will have more benefits from using their city information centers. Thus, I totally disagree that the public libraries should provide only books for their clients.