Some people think that using mobile phones and computers ha a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

There are lots of arguments regarding whether mobile phones and computers will lower the verbal and written skills of young adults. I completely disagree with this statement because technology will broaden the knowledge of children via the diverse resource they have; students will not face the difficulties resulting from bad writing and they literally can bring e- books everywhere they go instead of carrying heavy physical books. The most convincing reason for holding my view is that technology devices are supportive tools for teenagers to access the diverse knowledge in this universe. Thanks to the great development of technology, the most up-to-date information will be updated in a timely manner while the quality of resources is maintained at a sophisticated and detailed level. There is a majority of academic journals and scientific reports are solely published via Google scholar and organisation websites but on paper. Therefore, it will be more beneficial for young adults to access this information immediately instead of waiting for months or even years to read the information that they were waiting for. A further reason for my position is that typing on machines will shorten the amount of time that young adults were supposed to do on paper. Besides, they can find a variety of writing samples on the Internet; as long as they paraphrase the text and write their minds in their own words, technology will definitely be beneficial for them. Nonetheless, on some occasions, people might find struggle with reading bad writing so typing on phones or computers will definitely avoid this phenomenon, resulting in a better understanding for readers. The last rationale in support of my viewpoint is the fact that with tablets or laptops, young adults can literally bring books anywhere. Recently, almost books have their digital version so readers can download these versions on their personal devices to read even on public transport or on vacation while not having to carry a heavy physical book. As the result, children are encouraged to read more and build up their passion for books compared to conventional physical books. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that technology devices are great tools that uplift both the verbal and written skills of young adults. The reason for this is that it will satisfy the need of reading books, encourage people to read more and prevent misunderstandings relating to bad writing. Given this situation, it is recommended that parents should consider technology as a helpful tool instead of concentrating on only its drawbacks.