For a long time there has been concern about the quality of the food we eat because of additives and contaminants. Recently genetically modified (GM) food has become more common, causing concern. Is this concern justified or not?

Nowadays, many people are concerned about the type and quality of the food they consume. They claim foods that come from GM crops are harmful and has a possibility of causing cancer. However, there are few people who consider such concern unjustified including myself. In this essay, I will try to justify why I think GM food has little to be concerned about. Firstly, organic foods are generally expensive. Lower yields and higher quality of crops means prices of the food is greater. On the other hand, GM crops have higher yields and are usually resistant to pests and drought, leading to more affordable prices. Such foods are beneficial in poor countries as it often cost less and can be grown using very little water. Whereas limited production of organic foods requires plenty of labour work and farmer’s time as well. Secondly, there is no solid proof that GM food causes cancer or any other diseases. Several research have been done into such foods but it has not managed to confirm any harmful effects on human health. Moreover, some organic foods are not entirely made from organic and may contain few ingredients of GM food. For example, since organic foods do not last long, many farmers and manufacturers use preservatives to store food for longer time which helps them to save money. To conclude, it is up to people to decide what food they want and their choice of eating organic food. However, I believe concern about GM food are baseless and its positive impact outweighs the unproven negative effects.