Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, using technology has become one of the most concerning issues. Some individuals claim that using mobile phones and computers has harmful effects on youngsters' skills, such as writing and reading skills. Although technology has many benefits, I totally agree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss the relevant reasons behind this issue. To begin with, in this contemporary era, many things have changed with the development of technology, especially our lifestyle. Young people are addicted to their cell phones and laptops which causes severe problems and changes the ways they write or read. For example, because of different communication applications on mobile phones, youngsters prefer to send a voice message rather than a text message. Moreover, many adolescents used to write their diaries in a notebook which helped them to increase their writing ability, while nowadays they record their diaries with photos or videos on laptops which reduces their skills. Furthermore, the development of technology in the field of reading and listening has changed the ways that people read a book. For instance, there are many podcasts and audiobooks narrating different kinds of books and cause removing physical books. Besides that, spending too much time using cell phones and computers leads to having less time for reading a book or a magazine. Therefore, this makes young people have fewer abilities in reading and writing. To sum up, technology has changed people's lifestyles and activities. Although there are many advantages, it can affect our skills by using too much. I believe that young people's reading and writing skills can be decreased by using mobile phones and computers.