Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that, for a variety of reasons people live longer than they used to the question is: should this be a reason for raising the age at which people retire? One advantage of increasing the age at which people stop working is that it will help the state by generating more money. People in work pay the pensions of those in retirement, so the longer people stay in work, the less the rest of the population will have to pay towards pensions. Another advantage of having a later retirement age is that an occupation tends to keep people fulfilled and even healthier and so it is beneficial to keep them working longer,, Currently the normal retirement age is about 55 or 60. in the past, when people died younger,They could look forward to only a few years more life. Nowadays they may have 30 to 40 years of leisure ahead of them feeling that they no longer contribute anything valuable to society. However, for,me the disadvantages of postponing retirement outweigh the advantages. Firstly, although older people obviously bring to the profession a great deal of experience, they gradually become less enthusiastic and less willing to adapt to changes. Young people are more adaptable and should not have to wait until the seniors leave to get a job. Secondly, many people simply don’t want to spend so much of their life working. They want to spend time with their children or grandchildren or to use that time for things like travelling before they grow too old to enjoy it.I therefore feel the retirement age should be raised only slightly, if at all.