Nowadays, many people spend less and less time with family. Why is this happening? How does this affect individuals and their families?

The past 50 years have witnessed a dramatic hike in the tendency of individuals to solely spend their free time. This is mainly because of the growing popularity of social media platforms. However, there are a number of impacts on individuals and families. Chief among the contributing factors to this trend is the upsurged utilization of various communication websites. This means that when spending a vast amount of time surfing such platforms,individuals will be hindered from communicating with parents and siblings, and they will choose to relate to such a visual world because it is much easier and effortless. One particularly salient example of this is the Facebook application which empowers people with various means of visual communication in order to lure them to socialize through this application rather than physical ones. As for the consequences, teenagers and their families would certainly bear the brunt of this phenomenon in terms of increased crime rates and the loss of family value. In other words, if adolescents tend to spend more time solely and isolate themselves from their fosters, increasingly will they be vulnerable to violence as a result of the absence of parental supervision. An eminent example of this is the prevalence of alcoholism and drug dealing among youth these days. One further influence relates to distorted families and the increase in divorce rates which have resulted from the lack of shared interests between partners and children will suffer from the detrimental impacts of social seclusion such as depression and behavioural changes In conclusion, this is a problem of such complexity that no solution is likely in the short term. Additionally, the impacts mentioned above could result from this trend.