Most modern families have both parents working and as a result children spend less less time with their parents. What is the reason for this? What problems can this cause?

In modern-day societies, it is necessary for adults to be at work for an increasing amount of hours. Therefore, the leisure time that parents can spend with their children is declined steadily. This essay will examine the causes of this new reality along with the difficulties that modern families are facing. Two main factors, namely exorbitant living costs and the desire for personal development, have led parents to be more in their working environment, rather than stay with their children. First of all, nowadays, raising children demands a huge amount of money for a variety of things, such as their education and leisure time activities. So, it is impossible to get by on a single salary and allow one of the two spouses to be constantly at home, taking care of the household. Furthermore, it is an imperative need for adults to achieve their goals and become successful in the job market, and to achieve that they choose to stay at work for more than they have to or even continue working from home. All these reasons keep them from spending enough time with their children. This new reality causes a plethora of problems to modern households, especially to the bonds that parents have with their offspring and to the development of children's character. For example, many pieces of research have proved that adolescents, who did not spend many hours with their parents during their childhood, are more likely to become boisterous and perform poorly at school. Moreover, they are usually characterized as dysfunctional, offspring are too independent and do not have the usual acquaintance that is observed in other families. In conclusion, it is a matter of great importance for parents to have a job to provide for their families and also be content with themselves. This essay examined how these reasons decrease the number of hours that they spend at home and the difficulties that modern-day families and kids are facing due to this situation.