The prevention of health problems and illness is more important that treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

Subsidising public healthcare by governments is an imperative need for societies. Many argue that preventing health issues is more crucial than treating them, so funding should be focusing on prevention. This essay will examine why in my opinion treatment and medicine are superior. First of all, healthcare infrastructures are essential to society and nowadays, it is difficult to operate properly, due to a cut in funding from the state. For example, many public hospitals are making cutbacks, there is a shortage of basic medicines and antibiotics, and the number of employees is inadequate. All these have resulted from underfunding and have caused major difficulties for public health. If an additional decrease in the amount of the provided money happens, in order to subsidise a different sector, the pressure will be unbearable, and many public infrastructures will probably stop operating, while citizens will turn to private healthcare. Furthermore, prevention is neither the ultimate solution, nor superior to treatment and medicine because no one can be absolutely sure that precautions will protect every single person. For instance, it is a common practice for pharmaceutical companies to make clinical trials, as to examine causes and possible solutions for different medical conditions. However, there is always a number of participants who do not react in the same way therefore, the conclusion is that every organism is different and needs special treatment. It is impossible to find a method that will apply to everyone, so keeping money from hospitals to fund this cause is unacceptable. In conclusion, the importance of prevention against cure and medicine is a debatable issue. This essay provided arguments as to why it is more beneficial for societies to invest in healthcare and treat patients, and why finding a method that prevents illness for all citizens is an illusion.