Some people spend a lot of money on hosting birthday parties, family functions, and other celebrations. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There are people who like to spare no expense when celebrating important occasions in life. While throwing lavish parties ensures fun and entertainment for everyone involved, we should bear in mind the negative consequences as well. Apart from draining our hard-earned income, this trend might result in a decadent society obsessed with material indulgence instead of spiritual fulfilment. The obvious reward of lavish celebrations is fun and merriment. I believe that people should not underestimate the importance of enjoying time with family, friends, and neighbours in order to strengthen their relationships and accumulate pleasurable memories. For this, more expenditure translates into a more splendid party. On top of this, organizing posh Gatsbyesque parties might boost the social reputation of the hosts. Not only will the invitees have a great time, they will view the hosts as wealthy and generous. On the other hand, going above and beyond one’s means to hold over-the-top festivities is not sustainable in the long run. In today’s economy, organizing a grand event with food, alcohol, and entertainment costs an arm and a leg. We have heard many stories of how families have become bankrupt trying to keep up with the Joneses. In addition, as a result of this lifestyle, there is a risk of creating a depraved and profligate culture where people yield to their base desires rather than focusing on self actualization. This can be exemplified by comparing the societies of big cities, where ostentatious celebrations are a norm, to rural communities, where people seem to have stronger interpersonal bonds in spite of meagre social functions. In conclusion, as celebrations are important parts of life, some suggest that they should be enjoyed with fervor and opulence so as to build relationships as well as status. However, caution should be adopted to not let things become hedonistic and futile.