Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the approach to cope with law breakers. While some claim that it is not the optimal tactic to send offenders to jail, others make a statement that schooling and job orientation are better methods to assist them. In my point of view, the former is valid to some extent, I am an advocate myself of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, keeping perpetrators in imprisonment is not the best tactic to handle them. On the grounds that, depending on the dire extent offenders caused, the governors should consider the proper ways for them. For example, offenders’ misdemeanor such shoplifting or graffiti, the authorities should give them tough punishment, contrast to some felonies such as sexual assault or kidnapping, prison sentences play as one of the embodiments of justice and fairness in society. Thus, giving sentences should be considered an obsolete practice. While ineffectiveness of imprisoned law breakers is widely acknowledged, there are a bunch of approaches in order to cope with perpetrators, especially supplying education and job training for them. To be specific, the first solution is to give offenders a chance to perceive their faults, meanwhile, job orientation and schooling can assist them to make a living. Both tactics help people violating the law reintegrate into society and induce the ratio of people to become a criminal. For example, Vietnam has built a myriad of reformatories to juvenile criminals, which supply them with conceptions of their wrong acts and a job holder in handicraft or sewing. Hence, education and job orientation are efficient methods to rehabilitate perpetrators. To sum up, even though imprisonment can be appropriate for some types of crimes, it is not the optimal way to apply on a mass scale. In contrast, schooling and job training are effective to help criminals transform.