Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays young people have a huge variety of opportunities how to spend their spare time, but not all of them are useful, and moreover, some of them might be detrimental. Therefore, some people think that it is highly important to force teenagers to do unpaid work in their free time for local communities. I strongly believe, that such an activity can be beneficial for neither teenagers nor local communities. First of all, when we talk about unpaid activity, it should be mentioned that this could be done perfectly and effectively only by volunteers, who are keen on doing it and have enough passion for it. Those who were obliged to work for free will not have any motivation to do it well and will try to skip it by any available means. Thus, no important skills will be developed by young men, and at the end of the day with a high probability this attempt will be a complete and utter waste of time for them. Besides the fact that this practice is useless for youngsters, it might be detrimental to local communities as well. In most cases, community work means some unqualified, boring, and repetitive actions, such as helping old and impaired members of the community and cleaning parks or public spaces. These types of activities are strongly connected with local citizens and have a great impact on their moods. That is why completing it in an inappropriate and ineffective way will provide nothing but harm and disappointment. To conclude, I definitely disagree with those who think obliging teenagers to do unpaid community work in their spare time is a good idea. Because working without any motivation, no matter financial or non-financial, can not be done well, therefore will provide any benefit neither those who did it no ultimately beneficiary of it.