Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic development has always been the national goal of any country's authorities. However, many advocates argue that equal attention should also be allocated to other issues for the general welfare. In this essay, I will discuss both the importance of economic sustainability and the drawbacks of overlooking other pressing problems such as the environment. On the one hand, a country's economy is significantly crucial for improving its citizens' living standards. In more developed-economy countries, citizens have higher wages, lower unemployment rates and better access to healthcare and education. Higher-income also helps to reduce crime rates and promote a higher sense of happiness and life satisfaction. Whereas in poorer countries, such as Vietnam, there are still many residents who suffer from a lack of access to standard necessities such as water and food. The population who suffer from low living standards have a higher tendency to commit crimes and lower satisfaction with life. Therefore, it is understandable that most governments will put their focus on enhancing their economy. On the other hand, the absence of necessary attention on other matters also causes dramatic damage to a nation. The most pressing issue nowadays in every part of the world is environmental pollution. With the fast growth of technology, coupled with the large world population of 8 billion people, the Earth's natural conditions are severely destroyed. It has been reported by a survey conducted at the University of Melbourne that there are millions of old-digital devices disposed of every year into nature either by burning or landfills. This e-waste, consequently, does not even release toxic chemicals, such as mercury, that cause air and land pollution. They also cause a higher rate of cancer among workers in the disposal process. Eventually, the rest of the population will also suffer from negative changes in the ecosystem, such as lower health conditions or limited access to drinkable water. It would furtherly put a larger burden on the healthcare system and government spending. As a result, preserving the environment is another urgent area that authorities also need to take action on. In conclusion, economic progress plays an important role in improving citizens' living standards. Nevertheless, environmental issues also need an equal scope of actions from the authorities, otherwise, significant consequences may affect the national welfare.