Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are two controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the tactic to handle perpetrators. While some claim that it is the best way to keep dangerous criminals in jails, the opposite makes a statement that they should be trained in terms of education and working skills. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, putting criminals behind bars is not an optimal choice. Instead, the government should depend on the severity of wicked acts to consider a proper approach to cope with them. For example, misdemeanors such as painting graffiti or shoplifting are regarded to be sentenced as a fine. Meanwhile, offenders who commit felonies like murder or serious loss of property and life should be sent to jail. Hence, imprisonment should not be considered a superior way on a large scale. While the ineffectiveness of keeping law-breakers in captivity is widely acknowledged, there is another way to cope with them, especially by providing education and job orientation. Not only were criminals broadened their horizons by learning which facilitates them to assume about their mistakes in the past, but they were also provided with technical skills in order to make ends meet. By doing so, law-breakers tend to reintegrate and contribute to society, which leads to a decrease in the crime rate. For instance, there are myriads of reformatories built in Vietnam for juvenile delinquents, which enhances their code of conduct and provides them opportunities to take part in future lines of careers ranging from sewing to the mechanic industry. Therefore, required skills should be handed down and oriented to offenders so as to bend them. To sum up, although sending perpetrators to jail is of crucial in several cases, it does not play a significant role to apply on a mass scale. Instead, studying and training necessary skills should be prioritized to tackle them.