Nowadays we have become a throwaway society where it is common to throw away devices and gadgets instead of repairing them. Why is this happening and what are the effects of this?

The popularity of using upgraded versions of gadgets and devices and discarding old models has emerged as a disposable culture. This trend is quite popular in this globalized world as the invention of new technology is infinite and similarly, human desires have no control, but to buy and use these products. I believe, increasing consumerism through advertising impresses the mindset of the target market to make the purchase and have a collection of various items and surely such buying behaviour has negative effects on the environment. It is undeniable that just to maintain social status and be in the prevailing trend, individuals buy numerous machinery from various brands. Every few months new models are launched with new features and specifications as well as eye-catching advertisements with effective music making it more appealing to buy. Indeed, existing devices owned by any individual usually have some or other technical glitch or damaged part which usually needs almost a similar amount to repair in comparison to a new gadget. So, I believe it is quite obvious that anyone will choose to buy a new product instead of wasting money to repair the device. Being habitual of throwaway culture impacts the environment negatively. The accumulation of debris in devices or electronic gadgets is usually metal, tin and batteries. These non-biodegradable materials produce harmful toxins which are severely bad for humans and all creatures. Also, in many,countries these waste materials are often discarded by not following proper waste management procedures due to which the environment has drastic drawbacks. No doubt global warming and poor air quality are common examples of misbalancing the environmental cycle due to increasing junk. Therefore, the consequences of increasing disposable society can not be neglected in any case. To conclude, it is quite evident that innovation of new gadgets will always overpower the buying behaviour of people resulting in an abundance of debris, however the culture of a throwaway society can be reversed just by making small efforts to repair the gadgets but not dumping them.