Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Surviving and living comfortably in the modern era has many downsides, some of which eventually backfire. The growing issue of global transportation congestion over the past few decades has become a major threat to humanity and is being debated whether it'll metamorphose into something bigger. As the role of cars is more significant in the 21st century compared to others, it has become essential to own one. Additionally, the price is fairly affordable depending on the model. And, as a consequence, almost everyone owns a car. A day in my life is incomplete without me hearing the unbearable noisy honks of hundreds of vehicles for minutes, sometimes, nearly hours, at a time. And I live in a third -world country. Cities around the world, nowadays, can be, in my perspective, addressed as “one big traffic jam.” Individuals everywhere are risking global warmth and sacrificing fresh air for day-to-day convenience. As a result, governments are forced to take measures in order to encourage people to use their vehicles less. Moreover, I believe it has to be done properly. Take, for example, the government raising gas prices. People will only get mad because they have to spend more money on gas, and the use of cars won’t decrease, at least not significantly. But instead, if the awareness of how their vehicles’ emission of gasses contribute to global warming and air pollution, and the dangers of the mentioned phenomenons are raised, I strongly believe that transportation congestion across the world will decrease. To conclude, as of right now, I believe the issue we are facing is very real, so much so that the term “one big traffic jam” used to describe cities is totally, yet surprisingly, agreeable. Lastly, this can be halted if everyone starts loving mother nature.