Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar has been a major cause of several non-communicable diseases for years. However, there are still many manufactured food and beverage products that contain high-level of sugars on the market. Some people believe that making these products more expensive will lessen the number of people consuming them. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with this statement. First, a high daily intake of sugar could lead to a high level of glucose in the human blood system. This may cause several chronic diseases such as Diabetes Mellitus, Chronic Kidney Disease, and Heart Failure; which eventually can cause death. Thus, by making manufactured food and drink products overpriced, people would re-think buying these goods. This will unconsciously encourage people to manage their health more. For instance, if these sugary products cost two times higher than a glass of fresh fruit juice, people will choose to buy the juice more than the manufactured ones. Thus, the government should put sugary food and drink tax on these products. However, other than making a sugar tax, the government can come up with a new policy about the maximum daily nutritional intake. Manufacturers are prohibited to produce products that are surpassing the borderline of the daily recommendations. For example, if the maximum sugar level of 100ml beverages is 2gr, products that are higher than this number would never get the permit to enter the market. Consequently, the manufacturers will have no choice but comply. In conclusion, the idea of making sugary products cost more is effective in preventing serious health problems. In addition, the government can control people's daily intake in several ways. However, I think it is essential for people to put more attention to their own health conditions.