Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Indeed, we are increasingly surrounded by commercials of the company that wants to sell us their products. To some extent, I agree that advertising has a great impact on sales but I would also argue that we need most of the products that we buy. Advertisements can attract consumers to buy products that they do not need it really. The best example of this is mobile phones. Every year people can be seen queuing up for acquiring the latest model of mobile phone, even when they have a perfectly good phone that does not need replacing. Perhaps it is the influence of marketing that is forcing people to make these kinds of decisions. Most of the time people just change their phones to look affluent and show them to their friends that they can also afford them. The best illustration of this is the high sales of the iPhone. On the contrary, I believe that most people do not buy products just because of adverts alone. There must be several reasons why they make this choice, and there must be some kind of need before a person makes a purchase. The new products always have good features and better performance than the existing ones and that might be a reason for a person want to acquire that product. For example, a new car that has a variety of new features, or maybe more economical to run or may pollute less. A new phone may allow a person to communicate quickly and effectively, thus, enhancing their quality of life. In conclusion, while commercials have a huge influence on consumers, I do not agree that people make a decision that goes against their real needs.