The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

Most news that dominates the headlines is negative, like conflicts, starvation, accidents, and increasing crime rates. In my opinion, this happens to manipulate the audience to focus on pessimistic pieces of information. This essay will discuss why the equal presentation of positive and negative news is essential. First, to detect the causes behind the overload of pessimistic reports, we must consider the principles of human nature and psychology and realise that people usually have a negative bias against everything that happens in the world. When something positive appears in the news, for example, volunteers cleaning a beach or planting trees in an area, people quickly diminish their actions to be negligent, which will not save the planet. However, when a natural disaster or a conflict happens, it creates public awareness, so journalists and reporters focus on bad accounts to manipulate and keep their viewers. Preserving a balance between optimistic and pessimistic pieces of information, in printed materials, like newspapers and magazines, and in bulletins is a matter of great importance. When reporters bombard the population with bad reports, and there is nothing pleasant to watch to be alleviated, they will become miserable and maybe stop reading and watching the news. Moreover, it is crucial to praise beneficial actions and entertain the audience, therefore, reports must be both informative and entertaining. In conclusion, people pay more attention to gloomy information, which is constantly all over the news. People's tendency to focus on these is interwoven with human nature, but positive information is also crucial, so finding the balance between them is the key.