A person’s health is their own responsibility rather than the government’s responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Good health is the most valuable possession that a person owns. Some believe that each one must take care of their wellness and not the government. I partly agree with this statement and this essay will explain why. A major reason why I think this is that we know our bodies better than anyone else. In other words, the general human anatomy could be the same for everyone but the way each body works is totally different. We have the responsibility of having a healthy lifestyle. Consequently, we must be concerned about what we eat and if we exercise every day. The population have to avoid the main diseases caused by not having correct habits of life. For example, it is recommended to walk at least ten thousand steps every day for having an active life. However, there are health problems that must be managed by the administration. The role of public services should be to manage properly the health system and emergencies. They have to ensure that everyone has free access to medical treatments because, in my opinion, the well-being of people should not be a business. Also, even if citizens take care of themselves, there are cases that it is necessary for the intervention of the government to stop problems as is the case of the pandemic. Thus, the condition of the country is endangered so proper measures need to be established for the sake of the nation. For instance, during the COVID pandemic, governments determined a lockdown to reduce the spread of the virus. In conclusion, even if we are responsible for our bodies and health, governments must cover the main necessities of society and look after people's general wellness.