Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls at school. Others disagree and believe that it is a waste of school time. Discuss both Views and give Your opinion

It is essential for students to acquire different skills and knowledge that are useful in life at school. While some people believe that a cooking class is an important part of education both for male and female students, others believe that it is no longer necessary with the rising demand for other skills that are more related to future careers. I personally support the former view for the following reasons. On one hand, it is no doubt that a cooking class maintains its value in providing children with essential skills to cook meals of different varieties. In the cooking class, it will be both entertaining and satisfying to make creative dishes by themselves. Furthermore, boys and girls attending cooking class are more likely to consider the nutritious values of the food they make and consume well-balanced meals in life. Therefore, it plays a significant role in raising awareness of their direct impact on individual health. On the other hand, in spite of the usefulness of cooking classes, more schools tend to neglect its effect. Because of the growing globalization and advancement of technology in current society, other skills such as language and computer skills are regarded as more vital. In fact, these subjects are introduced to younger ages of children today. For example, language education, which used to start from junior high school, is now provided to 4th graders in elementary schools in Japan. As a result of such a dramatic shift in modern society, the growing emphasis of new skills reduces that of cooking lessons. In conclusion, a cooking class is a fundamental part of school education which allows pupils to learn not only how to cook but also understand the nutritious values of the meals they consume. However, it is gradually replaced by new subjects that are more useful for employment in future.