Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is generally believed that providing society with more facilities to do sports will bring myriad benefits to public health. However, others argue that this is effective and recommend other options. This essay will discuss both views and agree that there are better ways to help society to keep fit. Support from governments for a healthier society, such as free public gyms, might be useful to promote the importance of health to society. It could be one way to show them that the authority cares about their well-being. However, if this breakthrough is not made together with the rise of awareness about health, these facilities will soon be abandoned and left behind. For instance, in Indonesia, numerous parks with gym tools still look new even though they were built years ago, as most of the population has no interest in using them. Therefore, the authority should consider disseminating awareness to the public about maintaining health. It may begin by making a mandatory subject at school to teach children to live a healthy lifestyle combined with a balanced diet, enough sleep, and exercise. Next, there might also be a campaign led by the government from smaller regions to inform people about the importance of exercising regularly; they may also arrange a weekly exercise together at the park. Hence, as the tools are ready and the people are self-conscious about using the facilities, these combinations will make an impactful benefit. In summary, infrastructure established by the government to provide better health systems would bring plenty of advantages as long as it is followed by self-awareness from individuals about health.