It is increasingly common for people to get the news from social media. Traditional sources of news like newspapers, television and radio are becoming less popular. Why is this so? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the usage of the internet to spread the news has been widely accepted and the consequence is people have started to neglect old-style media, such as newspapers or television. In my opinion, although it will draw numerous benefits, there are also many drawbacks we should consider. To begin with, social media is eligible to spread the news swiftly and reach wider range of people. As long as receivers has active internet connection, they can obtain the shared video or text. For instance, people from America may get message from citizen in Indonesia in a blink of eye. Furthermore, using social media means we could get a bunch of information through one time of scrolling since everybody on the internet can share information, regardless it is true or false. The more source the more we can calibrate the occurrences. For example, if the majority of media said the forest fire was caused by unresponsible people, and minority said that it was ignited by lightning strike, then we can conclude that culprit must take responsibility from this disaster. On the other hand, a lot of consideration we need to take care of, such as hoax and negative news. The simplicity of post a report and there are no curator of the content can lead to misunderstanding or fake data. Hoax sometimes is being used as issue distraction for politician or businessman, to blurry the genuine one. Moreover, negative or hate speech may become common thing we find in the social media timeline. Normalize this kind of thing will lead into growing hatred. Hatred to certain people will make we stop to develop, yet just focus to another people ’s weakness. All in all, we should using media social wisely, since we can get much and faster news, nevertheless, hoax and negative news also become a thing we should consider while surf on the internet.