To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the population is still growing rapidly, the food supply has become an important issue that needs to be solved. Countries' governments suggest using insects as a source to produce food. However, people have different perspectives on insect foods. Here are my opinions about using insects to make food. According to scientific research that I accessed while doing my school project, there are many benefits of eating insects. To begin with, some insects have more proteins than the same amount of meat that you consume, which can make the consumer feel full after only eating a few of them. In addition, the population of insects is much more than the population of edible animals. Furthermore, the reproduction speed of the insects is significantly more efficient than the speed of the edible animals, as insects can give birth to 100 baby insects at once while the animals can only normally give birth to up to one digit. There are also downsides to eating insects. Firstly, eating insects might have a huge impact on the food chain, which might make the other creatures experience starvation and even further cause extinction to the creatures. Secondly, there are not enough statistics proving that eating bugs will not have long-term effects on the human body, whereas people have been eating meat for hundreds of thousands of years, letting us know that eating meat won't affect our bodies. Finally, bugs are too small, and we might require to eat a considerable amount of them at once to feel full. In conclusion, although there are some downsides, they are not unsolvable. Therefore, I believe it will be an excellent solution for the lack of food supply.