Being good at mathematics depends on a person’s natural ability as well as the quality of teaching they receive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undeniably, a person’s ability to acquire new skills is rooted in their genetic. However, according to some, for becoming a good mathematician, having a proper tutor is as vital as the genetical capacity of that person. In my opinion, I strongly believe both the natural ability and the environmental factors regarding the nurturing process are salient components of striving in a field of mathematics. In the first place, each person has a unique genetical map which works somehow as a framework. This means that the scope of obtaining new skills for each and every one revolves around their hereditary abilities. Put it more simply, some can be better in understanding this subject in comparison to others. This clearly proves why only a few gifted ones, such as Maryam Mirzakhani, a famous Iranian mathematician honored with the Fields Medal, can break through this figurative glass ceiling, transcending and becoming an outstanding, extraordinary scientist. Another fundamental component is having a passionate and inspiring teacher who facilitates the path towards a flourished educational status. Moreover, having an authoritative, professional and disciplined guidance would alleviate the way for reaching the best version of oneself. To give an illustration, I would mention Maryam Mirzakhani as a prime example for this matter as well. She studied in a top rank university under the renowned lecturers and professors who inevitably influenced her academic career. In conclusion, besides congenital capabilities which are essential basics for anyone who wants to pursue an academic course with an acceptable performance, having an instructor who would lead the way also plays a vital role in becoming a competent mathematician.