Psychologists have known for many years that color can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to color schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does color influence people’s health and capacity for work?

For years now, psychologists have known the importance and the effects of colours on human life. According to them, significant attention should be given to the colour schemes surrounding people, especially in workplaces or places holding great importance to people's lives. In this essay, I shall discuss, the importance of detailed colour scheming planned around us and how it affects us. To begin with, it is seen that specific paints are only used in hospitals or clinics, such as whites or off-whites for the building or shades of lighter blue as well as green for the operation theatres, scrubs or curtains. The reason for this is the blue and white tones with cool shades can be soothing for a tense atmosphere such as at a hospital. However, the pediatric department is usually painted in bright shades to make the environment seem bright, warm and appealing to children. While, on the other hand, places like cafes, restaurants or bedrooms are suggested to have yellow lights installed, as this brings a sense of comfort and warmth to the folks there. During the study of architecture and interior designing, the students are given detailed knowledge of pigments and hues and their scheming and grading. This is for the same reason as the paints we surround ourselves with affect our mindsets gravely. For example, if meeting rooms or offices are painted more in greens and blues it will help reduce the tension within the room and help the employees work with a calm mind. In conclusion, it would be safe to say, that pigments and hues do greatly affect the mood and the thought processes of people. Hence, one should always be careful in choosing the palettes we surround ourselves with.