The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

The prison system has always been a subject of debate and, lately its utility in reforming criminals has been put into question. A large number of convicts re-return to the path of crime post their period behind bars. In this,essay we shall try to analyse the problem of the prison system and provide possible solutions to address the same. The ecosystem of jails from time immemorial has been one dimensional as it aims to keep the convict secluded from society, preventing possible recurrence of crime. However, in doing so it has failed to act as a means of reforming the criminal mindset. Moreover, life behind bars is subject to authoritarian abuse which impacts the psychology of the people inside it. Harsh conditions, and lack of counselling further deteriorate the already deviated mindset of criminals which induces them towards punishable offences. The modern solution to the above problem can be found in setting up technical centres inside the prison where the convicts can learn skills which will not only help them to a new mode of employment post their release but will also act as a means of earning. Counselling them also will help their realignment to mainstream society. For example in the state of West Bengal, India, the jails had been re-christened as correctional homes and penitentiary system has focussed on upgrading the technical capabilities of the inmates and soft loans and grants are provided post-release to help them reintegrate into society. Thus, we can encapsulate by saying that a mindset change of the state is the primary necessity to ensure that criminals do not revert back to their old ways. It is always said one should hate crime and not the criminal and they should be given an opportunity to mend ways and be more law-abiding citizens.