Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Exams are currently the most efficient way to bring up the student’s differences in their academic achievements and are widely used in the school’s grading system regardless of its disadvantages. In the latter part, I will discuss how both sides of this view are justified. Exams are usually standardized brief content and by completing which, the learners can be assigned grades. For example, young minds are required to learn their subjects and evaluate each of them before the finals arrive and the pupils who have done their part can pass without any obstacles. Professionals tend to agree that exams are a fine approach it is because students are given a semester-long time to prepare for them. Therefore, exams are the display of students’ effort and determinants of results and they cannot be done overnight study. It is also believed that exams are not the best measurement to assess students' ability to learn because different types of people are taking one kind of test and which can result in a disparity of academic skills. For example, a theoretical physicist and an experimental physicist are bound to take one exam which contains purely theoretical problems. In this case, the exam itself favoured the theoretical one because the exam is not checking the experimental one’s ability. Therefore, exams are not the best way to assess students’ all-around ability. In conclusion, the exams are indeed efficient and time-saving acts to distinguish students’ efforts but not the best ones yet. People have different kinds of abilities which can result in different results and exams are usually can be seen as a memorial test of disciples.