In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

In my opinion, living with family while studying may be a great way to maximise the possibilities that someone can have, whereas staying in another city can be beneficial, as one learns how to step out of their comfort zone. This is the most crucial skill that can be learned throughout one’s university years, and it also improves learning speed and quality. Furthermore, I consider that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of living far from home for studies. Firstly, students learn to cook and, moreover, to organise their time without anyone telling them how and when to do so. As they feel the need, their natural instincts awaken and start to play a big role in the lifestyle of the student. Having lived this experience myself, when I had the opportunity to go for a month to Poland for an exchange programme, being all alone, I learned all the basic life skills that I did not know before. Secondly, as fewer people tend to be around, the focus on acquiring knowledge increases. Being alone in an academic environment with no other interests automatically improves the motivation one can have. For instance, when my cousin went to another university outside of the country, his grades improved, as he had no other distractions or people around. In conclusion, while staying at home for studies can improve one’s lifestyle, being away is a more demanding but future-proof way of doing things, as it ensures a more powerful way of learning about life and studying efficiently.