Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

Throughout the history, schools have been evaluating students with written exams and some people strongly advocate that this method is the best way of evaluation. However, the insufficiency of exam booklets and the diversity amongst young people should be considered, so I adopt an opposite stance against written exams and my statement will be further elaborated in this essay. Written exams are easily predictable due to their nature. Teachers cannot create a different type of question with the same curriculum and this provides students to practice mock tests and get higher scores. For example, In Turkey, children might attend private classes before their exams and prepare themselves for tests, by doing that, the vast majority of students get high scores but when pupils are asked verbal questions, they cannot answer them. This proves that regarding their structures, pen and paper exams might not be enough to measure children's success. Another essential point to consider is that young people have various learning skills, which may provide them success in different categories. For instance, a youngster with a kinesthetic intelligence might achieve higher grades by implementing a experiment. Scientists proved that diversity in learning skills, must be considered while preparing an exam for teenagers. Moreover, marking students ' grades by their strenghts might give them a chance to improve further. That is why, schools should offer numerous types of exams, not only pen and paper. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that written exams are predictable and insufficient to evaluate children. In addition to this, there are other methods to test students considering their type of intelligence. I highly recommend educators to consider another methods to measure their students ' understandings.