An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, the number of overweight kids is rising and causes countless harmful effects. These children will face difficulties as they grow up related to their health condition and the amount of money they will have to pay to deal with the problems. I argue that the popularity of convenience food is responsible for kids having more weight, so this essay will provide solutions to how society can tackle the problem. Firstly, in modern-day families, both parents have a job, and it is uncommon for one to stay home, rearing children. The job market is competitive and demands employees to work hard, for example, for extra hours or even from their homes. Consequently, they do not always have time or energy to prepare meals for their offspring and choose fast food as a last moment solution. Convenience food contains high levels of fat and sugar or enough nutrients and vitamins, therefore it is easier for kids to gain extra weight or even become obese. It is crucial to solving the problem of numerous overweight children because otherwise, they will suffer from medical conditions in their adulthood and will spend money to try to deal with them. The first way is to educate students from an early age on the importance of following a balanced diet and consuming the necessary nutrients. Subsequently, they will be more careful about their choices and not crave unhealthy meals. Moreover, the state can help by providing healthy meals, for instance, salads and soups, ready for consumption, which parents will buy when they do not have time to cook. In conclusion, the number of overweight children should decline to prevent them from having issues that will cost a lot to fix later in life. This essay argued that the limited free hours that parents have to cook are responsible for this situation and provided possible solutions to eliminate it.