Some people think foreign visitors should be charged more than local people when they visit the cultural and historical attractions in a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common practice that foreign travellers are required to pay more than domestic visitors when visiting cultural and historical sites. I disagree that charging foreign foreigners more is the right policy. Cheap tickets attract visitors from all over the world. It is very humane that people will be more attracted to something less expensive. The increasing fees would impact travellers’ plans to go on vacation as they should allocate extra budget to visit a specific country. As a result, the country will be labelled as an expensive country for tourists. In the long run, this policy will lead to decreasing foreign travellers and greatly impact the touristry sector. Moreover, in the travel industry, ticket fees of overseas guests are not the only source of revenue, but also the hotel industry. The number of hotels built near tourist areas can attract visitors because accommodation is accessible. Furthermore, the more attraction available, the more tourists will come. Take Indonesia as an example. Charging extra fees to oversea tourist will not add a significant number to the nation’s revenue as the number of oversea visitors in 2022 was one- third of all visitors in a year. Indonesia is a big country with thousand of tourism alternatives ranging from cultural, and landscape, to historical activities. In conclusion, I personally disagree that implementing a higher ticket fee policy for foreigners is a wise decision as looking for something cheaper is human nature and there are other sources of income that can be capitalized to boost touristry revenue.