The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on the other planets.some people think that it is wastage of money and government should spend more money on addressing the problems of public.To what extent do you agree?

Some argue that the government is wasting money to discover life outside Earth and the money should be spent on solving problems in the society instead. I believed that as there are no significant discoveries despite the never-ending increase of budget, and there are more urgent matters in our communities, I totally agree the state should invest more on addressing social problems instead of discovering the unknown. First and foremost, money needed for researching on the other planets keeps on growing into an astronomic number, and yet there are no concrete results. Mankind have already sent dozens of spacecrafts and satelites into the space over the decades. Most planets in the solar system have been observed throughly, yet no life was discovered. Research conducted by NASA predicted that in order to collect data from other planets outside the solar system, the cost for developing high-tech equipments will be ten times to a hundred times more. As there are no concrete evidences that outer lifes exist, further investment on researching that will just be a waste of money. Moreover, there are more urgent issues in our society that affect millions of people. A lot of social problems arise from the modern development of the world, and it becomes more and more serious throughout the years. For example, the unemployment rate in Japan has reached an all-time peak in recent years, which decreased the life quality of the citizens. If the government can put more money in finacial aids for the individuals in need, lives for millions of people can be improved instantly and effectively. In conclusion, as the cost continues to increase for a research with no concrete results, and the problems of public becomes more and more serious nowadays, I strongly agree that it is a waste of money to discover life outside Earth and government should spent more money on social problems instead.