Some people think that there could be more benefits to society if more people study business than history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals advocate that studying business can be considered to be more beneficial to our society in contrast with majoring in history. From my perspective, I completely disagree with it due to the contributions on the formation of cultural confidence and the experiences summarised by analysing history. First of all, specialists in history are in demand to enhance the confidence of a nation. To be detailed, historians provide society with bridges to understand local cultures and conventions deeply because increasing truths are disclosed with the efforts of these specialists, and in this way, sufficient knowledge of their cultures would support them to perform more confidently on international stages. For example, Christian Dior, a luxurious brand, released a dress last year, which was accused due to plagiarism. In that case, without abundant research on chinese traditional clothes and relevant documentation, most chinese cannot recognize it as a kind of cultural intrusion. Secondly, historical projects play a vital role in making society better. Specifically, people would obtain opportunities to get into history, in particular, well-known events by studying history, and in this way, experiences and lessons could be organized and summarised to avoid making the same mistakes and apply useful policies to our society. For instance, the Qing dynasty closed all gates to the world which caused the degradation of China in various aspects including the loss of territories and dreadful living evironment at that time, however, China is occupying the second place in the rank of GDP after realizing the globalization of economy is inevitable. In conclusion, engaging in business is thought by some to have more positive impacts on society in comparison with building a career path in historic respect. In my opinion, I am not sympathetic to it due to the unparalleled effects on the inheritance of cultures and the invaluable lessons.