Governments spend an enormous amount of money on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money can be better spent on building new houses and developing roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is often argued by the people that spending government expenditure on preserving traditional buildings is seen as a way of squandering the money of taxpayers, and needs to be spent on providing amenities to the citizens of this country. Although, I agree that it is equally important to look after the old buildings as it is a heritage and pride of our society. I do not think that spending on visual art is a waste of money and I will support my opinion with relevant examples. On the one hand, spending a significant amount of the government budget on public services like looking after better education, building a new residence, and making roads, determines the quality of life that most of our people will have. For example, studies have consistently revealed that provincial with a higher level of literacy is more developed as compared to those that allocate no money to education. Therefore, it is apparent that spending on public services is a worthwhile investment for the government. Simultaneously, it is equally important to preserve the historical antiques and monuments built by our ancestors. Moreover, these old buildings are playing an important role to attract tourists towards our country, and it is an alternative way to support our government in terms of exchanging foreign currency. In the end, people will understand the importance of spending on historic items as they might at first assume. For example, adding monuments or sculptures in public places will help to remind citizens about the pride of our country. So even if constructing sculptures is not an essential service but there are clear benefits to funding them. To sum up, although there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services, I do not believe spending money on the arts is a waste of money as this also provides important benefits. In the future, governments should consider budgeting for both.