In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern era, convenience is essential to humans, for we are a busy race filled with individuals trying to survive and spend their lives comfortably, as a result, businesses are coming up with ready-made products, and fast food chains. And as convenient as these are, they are equally, perhaps more, as detrimental to one’s health. With concern for our well-being, I believe strict action or enforcement is required. Some also claim that the government should increase taxes on unhealthy products. Obesity rates seem to have skyrocketed in the past few decades, especially in countries housing numerous fast- food chains. Take America, for example, it has an uncanny rate of obese persons, and so is Mcdonald’s where anyone can buy a burger for a cheap price. If the government raises taxes on junk food, people will buy less of it. As a consequence, restaurants will lose money and eventually close. This plan may look promising, but may very well lead to a major economic decline. For instance, junk food chains play an important role in the economy, if they go bankrupt, many will lose jobs and won’t be able to afford good food. Therefore, forming a paradox. A plan for the citizens to get healthier by imposing higher taxes would only circle back to people being unhealthy again due to them not being able to afford quality food. Which is also expensive. Moreover, the plan not only is ineffective but highly detrimental, as people would also get poor. Instead, the government should fund campaigns on how dangerous fast food is for our health. To conclude, I highly disagree with the statement cited in the prompt. Imposing higher taxes on these kinds of snacks, in my perspective is unnecessary and detrimental. Raising awareness of the dangers of convenient food is enough and effective. In addition, if done properly, health problems in many individuals will disappear into oblivion.