Some people believe that governments should not support the arts (painting, music, sculpture) and instead support other areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that governments should be allocated to finance the development of arts, such as painting, music and sculpture, rather than other perspectives. I believe that both areas should be supported by authorities. It is imperative for governments to allocate funds to developing other public services, such as technology and education. One reason is that technology can provide people with more convenient services and a better quality of life. Hence, if the government can fund technology, people will be able to work from remote fields and land jobs in big cities by using advanced technologies, such as laptops and the Internet, which can also help the public improve their incomes. Moreover, if governments also fund education, the public will gain knowledge and skills from schools and are likely for them to land a good job and earn a decent amount of income, and after having a sufficient amount of money, they can live a better quality of life. While funding in other public areas has a wide range of advantages, supporting the development of arts, such as painting, music and sculpture, has its benefits. It is believed that arts can cultivate our creativity. Arts from different countries represent their own cultural identities. If authority supports the development of arts, people will have more opportunities to be exposed to a variety of cultures and understand the differences between cultures, thus accepting them. This process can help people stand in others’ shoes and cultivate empathy. In addition, there is no universal standard for judging art, so when people have access to art, which can encourage them to think outside the box and develop creative thinking skills. Therefore, if authorities funded arts areas, the public would have more opportunities to practice creative thinking and apply such creativity to their work, which could lead to breakthrough innovations. In conclusion, as discussed above, due to their valuable benefits, both arts and other public services are worthy of government funding.