Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

The issues of local languages extinction have emerged among people who consider learning English as an international language is more crucial to be taught at school. I believe that learning English is important because it is used for communication with communities from different countries however trying to preserve local speech by using it in our daily activities is equally important. Most societies acknowledge studying the English language at school as an international language, which is used as a mean of communication with folk who use different languages, are highly encouraged. This gives the opportunity to engage in conversation with communities from different sides of the world. In other words, this language is the bridge between people who do not have similar mother tongues. As a result, people can communicate effectively without feeling any difficulties conveying their thoughts even though they do not have the same mother tongue speech. For example, an international student from Indonesia, who speaks Indonesian, pursuing his degree in Germany where the local speech in Germany, does not have difficulties doing their daily activities because he uses the English language to communicate. Unlike the English language which is taught globally and become more popular, local languages are only taught in a certain school in a particular region which leads to decreasing number of people who speak it. Then, one of the solutions to preserve it is by promoting the language in daily conversation. That is because people are capable of mastering multilanguage where they have enough exposure to the use of language. For instance, the children in Madura island speak Madurese as their daily communication, however, this does not hinder them from mastering English. In conclusion, while the importance of learning English is prominent, it cannot prevent the preservation of local languages by actively using it in daily conversation.