Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them

Some parents think that accepting their children makes options in their daily life causes them to become selfish human beings in our society. Meanwhile, others think that children should learn to take care of themselves at an early age. Scientifically, certain periods require parents to spend adequate time raising their children as better citizens in their personality. Yet, there are stages of children ’s cognitive development and learning with a massive effort from their guardians. In early stages such as an infant and a toddler, the participation from parents asks to build emotional intelligence called EQ (emotional quotient). It is responsible to perceive the emotion which is linked to the left brain functionally. To raise children with robust EQ, the parents should stimulate their sensorimotor nerve endings by touching, tasting, and listening. Therefore, EQ development is completely connected with receiving new attempts from parents which can build their character in the future. Intriguingly, children start creating their egocentric cognitive skills in the later stage from middle childhood to adolescence. During this period, children are eager to expose themselves to unknown experiences by learning from both success and failure. Functionally, the right brain is in charge of the intellectual quotient which gets more mature to increase the survival rate in a competitive society. At this stage, the parents should counsel their children to be more independent enough to take responsibility. To sum up, there are specific periods in children ’s cognitive development and learning to be allowed to make their own choices. Otherwise, the parents should attend to support their children during a certain period of childhood. Finally, my position is neutral on both statements from my point of view as a medical doctor.