Some people say the main purpose of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, people have differing views with regard to the question of what is the aim of advertising, some people claim that it is for companies to gain a lot of economic advantages.In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view for several reasons, which I will bring closer. Firstly, this advertising can certainly encourage people to buy their products and win a lot of money, meaning that they try to say their product is fine and not has any negative side or consequences, for example, energetic drinks have a lot of harmful side effect that may cause serious health diseases, when they make advertising they will bring famous players and try say that if want to be a good play you must try our product, whereas, the fact their product is harmful. And to avoid that governments should pay attention to those advertising and educate people about the reality of this product. Secondly, I believe that advertising companies spend a lot of money in favour of getting the attention of people to their products, they put their advertising on the TV, on the street, and even everywhere, that means they have formule that as many companies spend in advertising they certainly benefit much and much income. there are various types of advertising investments. These companies would not contribute in any event if they will not get advantages. To sum up, this is why I believe these advertising aims to collect money from as much as they can without giving attention to their product's negative sides.They want just move forward for any cost.