Public celebrations( such as national days, festivals, etc) are held in most countries. Theses are often quite expensive and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things Do you agree or disagree?

Every country celebrates some unique festivals or national events. These might not be very popular at a global level but they might hold a great sum of significance to the citizens. Such days are mostly funded by the governments for their citizens. In my opinion, these funding should be limited to a certain amount and governments shouldn't go overboard with such planning. On the one hand, events and public gatherings are good reasons to bring all citizens together. Moreover, such parties don't differentiate about the people attending. If planned right such days can portray a positive light on people and can boost their morals too. Additionally, when cultures are happily shared and valued, humans make active relationships. However, huge celebrations might also provide active tourism. For example, Chinese new year's day is very popular worldwide and people from all over the world travel to China in order to witness it first -hand. On the other hand, if too much attention is drawn towards decorations, foods and stalls, a lot of governments acquired money can be wasted. Hence, the key difference is what religious group celebrates what festivals. While some individuals might be faithful to their way of celebrations other might find it to be a waste of time and space. For instance, too much money is spent on Christmas eve and people who don't celebrate Christmas might find it a waste. In conclusion, celebrations of such events should be widely accepted and taken care of. I agree, that spending too many resources on such moments can be considered stressful but if the plans are made in order, these situations can be avoided sternly.